Trip Planner

Overland Corner


Quench your thirst at the National Trust owned Overland Corner Hotel, built in 1859. See the museum and take a walk around the nearby mines and cemetery.

By 1855 Overland Corner consisted of a police station, horse staging building, blacksmith’s and wheelwright’s shop and a general store. In 1859 the Overland Corner hotel was built to cater for the drovers and coach route from N.S.W. to Adelaide. and by the 1870s it was the recognised overnight camping spot. Sometimes up to 30,000 sheep grazed the river flats near the hotel. A large wood pile was maintained at Overland Corner for the Paddle Steamers. It was delicensed in 1898 but continued as a general store and post office for many years. 

The National Trust purchased the Hotel in 1965 because of its importance as the first stone building in this area of Australia. There are historic graves in the area and the remnants of a copper mine. The pub was flooded in 1956 and today there is a levee bank protecting it from the Murray Rivers floods 670 metres from the Hotel.
Overland Corner Reserve is 300 acres of floodplain surrounding the Hotel. This reserve also conserves a historic quarry containing fossil evidence of animals now extinct within the region.

The Heron's Bend Reserve area is popular for camping and bushwalking. There are some excellent examples of red gum, black box and river coobah trees plus several species of mallee and acacia in this area along with cliffs of fossiliferous limestone surmounted by massive oyster beds.

The National Trust Overland Corner Walking Trail is a great way to explore the area's European and Indigenous heritage.